Linkage problem...help

Kronblom

Hi everybody,

I am rather new with scratch builds and after one year of straying into multirotors I'm now back wanting to try all the FT swappables.

After almost finishing the FT Delta I am now really frustrated. There is only one thing I just can't seem to find a good way of doing, and that is setting up linkages/control horns & push rods.

No matter what odds and bits I've gathered/bought it always is an issue when it comes to set up the linkage.

Take the FT delta as an example. Ok, I have two servos to work with, how hard can it be? Well first of all, when I finally found some linkage stoppers they were to big for the servo arm holes on my mini 9g servo. Second, after drilling the hole bigger they do fit, but now I'm not sure the nut below won't fall off while flying. If I tighten it to much the linkage stopper on top won't pivot in the hole and the push rod will bend. If to loose, well...no idea if it will stay put. Needless to say the reviews of these linkage stoppers with nuts don't get good reviews.

So what did I do? Well I put a modifed Z-bend (Snake bend) on the servo arm and a standard Z-bend on the control horn with a V-bend someplace in between. This on a 1mm musical wire. Well, the V-bend was to small so I can't get a grip on it with pliers to adjust so the elevon position is as is now. (=In other words, not good)

Sorry for all the rambling, but I'm really frustrated right now and I remember the reason I started with multirotors was to get away from all this push rod issue.

All the build videos makes it look so easy, and I would really like to finish a build but for some reason this last part is a big hurdle for me.

How do you all do it? What material for the rods are you using? Is there an easy way of doing it that I am missing?

Help and tips are really appreciated.
Thanks.

eagle4