Motor/Battery compatibility

Paul the Pilot

Hey everyone,
I am new to the RC world and I am trying to understand the electronics.
I am currently scratch building the "Baby Blender" and I am buying electronics to power it. I already have some basic cheep electronics a friend gave me and I am getting some more to make flying more practical. I have a Grayson Hobby Micro Jet V3 brushless motor and a 20 amp esc. I went to a local hobby shop and purchased a Park Zone 11.1V, 1300Ah, 3 cell li-po battery. Later I looked up the specs for my motor and discovered that it requires a 20C continuous discharge and my battery only gives 15C continuious with 20C burst. I was wondering if there was a way I could make this battery work with my motor or if I should return it for a battery with a 20C continuous discharge.

If anyone has good suggestions I would be very thankful.

rcspaceflight

creator of virtual planes
First of all, to answer your question, I wouldn't risk using that battery with that motor. Since the manufacturer doesn't recommend doing so.

I'm assuming this is the motor you are talking about: http://www.graysonhobby.com/catalog/ghmicrojetv3brushlessoutrunnermotor-p-425.html

A 2200kv motor with a 3 cell battery and a recommended prop size of 6x4 is rather fast for a beginner. At least I'm assuming you're a beginner.

You may be better off buying a different motor if you can. It's a nice thought to make do with what you have, but sometimes it costs more in the long run to try and make a freebie work. Especially since the wrong motor makes a plane hard to fly and impossible to not crash.

Tritium

Amateur Extra Class K5TWM
That motor is fine for a beginner IF you use a 2S battery to "slow" it down. That is what I did in the early days of my RC habit.

Thurmond

rcspaceflight

Actually, I too started with a 2200kv motor. But it caused me more headaches than if I had started with a lower KV motor and a better prop set up.

jfly77