New guy, old guy

Mastershake44

Hi y’all I’m new to rc flight but old in the tooth.
I just got a Wltoys kx a220 mini p40 mustang. I flew it at a baseball field on moody afb and found out I am great at crashing, thank goodness this little plane has a break away prop and is built like a tank. I am trying to learn to fly on this little guy befor I try my park foam board planes I have built. I have 3 or 4 without electronics, I need to find a bigger field to fly these.
I am having problems coordinating my pitch and yaw. I play a lot of Xbox and I think it is confusing me.
I an a disabled veteran with a lot of hobby time now so expect a post now and then. Thank you in advance for any advice!

Foamforce

When you say that you’re having trouble coordinating your pitch and yaw, are you referring to coordinated turns (which is coordinating room with yaw) or are tot talking more generally about forgetting which way is up or whether to turn left or right?

If it’s the former, the good news is that coordinated turns aren’t generally necessary for basic flight. All of the Flite Test planes I’ve flown will fly just fine without any rudder input. Adding rudder gives you nicer looking turns, gives you better landings, etc, but isn’t strictly necessary.

If it’s the latter, the best advice I have is to either play in a simulator until it’s natural, or keep flying your P40 until you’re completely confident with it. Those little warbirds are great learning planes because they are so hard to wreck.

When practicing, get much higher. Most learners stay close to the ground because it feels safer. But when you make a mistake, you immediately crash. If you get high up, then you have time to correct your mistakes. Then you stay in the air longer and start to build that muscle memory.