New to fixed wings, First time builder... What for first fixed wing 3Ch or 4Ch?

DrDiff

Hi All! I have 30 years of RC Surface experience and just this year I got into quad copters. Back in 1987 I got into RC surface to learn the electronics aspect. I have a Taranis Plus TX and a spare RX. So Why not jump into fixed wings? I can fly the quad OK. I am not a FPV Pilot or a Racer.

When I got into RC Surface everything was a kit. I am not afraid of building. So for my first fixed wing aircraft, would it be better? Thinking something like a FT bushwacker, or FT Simple Storch. Or should I just go with something like the FT Oddball or FT Flyer.

I am afraid that I will grow tired of a simple 3 channel plane rather quickly. Money is EXTREMELY Tight, So tight I dont know if I should even do this right now. and if I do this, It is not like I can pop another $40 on another kit in a month or so. When I bought my first motorcycle I bought a bike that was too small for me and I quickly grew tired of the cramped bike.

Please share your experience and thoughts.

I would love to hear Josh and Josh's comments. I know Simple is better, but can one go too simple?

Maybe I should take the money and throw it towards a FPV setup for my quad...

Thanks

Dean

Last edited:

Capt_Beavis

Posted a thousand or more times
I am a bit of a heretic around here. I don't think that the FT speed build kits or scratch builds are a good way to get into the hobby unless you have a mentor. The Storch is a great plane and can be a great trainer but just about every plane will have trim and CG problems on the first flight. Someone new to flying will have a horrible time reacting. After a few months you may be ready to advance from a 3 channel but they will always remain fun to fly.