noob transmitter questions

lawdog

Hi All

I am in the process of getting into the hobby and have researched several transmitters. I would very much appreciate some feedback from the great people who make up this forum.

I do not have a lot of cash so I do not want to make a mistake. I am a beginner so I plan on using 3-4 channels now but it seems wise to buy something that will not be obsolete after a short while. Spectrum radios and other brands like it are a little pricey for me and perhaps overkill for flying a FT foamie.

First I looked at an Orange Tx initially. It had many good reviews and it had many compatible small, cheap orange rx's available. I guess the only problem is that HK is the only seller and they do not have them available in the US warehouse. HK wants approx 30 bucks to ship it from China which can take up to a month on top of the 65.00 to purchase it. I then have to buy a receiver.

At that cost I looked at the Turnigy 9x. Its available in the US warehouse and comes with an 8 channel rx. With shipping the 9x has 3 more channels and is cheaper than the orange Tx/Rx combo. The downside I guess is that there are no 3-4 channel rx available. I guess I could use the stock 8 ch rx but that seems big for an FT Flyer. I saw that many people modify the radio but it takes a lot of technical know how to modify it which I do not have ( i really do not want to take the case apart).

I then looked at the Flysky version of the 9x. It appears (although I am not certain), to require less modification. Apparently you can actually remove the module and purchase a separate Orange module that will work with orange rx's. Again downside is the cost. The radio itself is more as is the module and receivers

What do you all recommend?

Thanks

Jaxx

Posted a thousand or more times