Problem setting up KK2.1.5 board

jermy paul

Hi all,

I am quite a newbie here and this is my first quadrotor build.

My quadcopter parts are as follows:

1000kv 13T brushless A2212 motors,
30A ESC (Not branded)
KK2.1.5 board,
Frame : Self Built
10" *4.5 props.

Battery : 3 cell battery with a maximum discharge current more than 60A (Atleast that's what is said by the seller; We got our batteries custom made)

I have checked all the ESCs and corresponding motors by directly connecting the signal cable of the ESC to the throttle channel on the receiver with the above mentioned battery. All are working satisfactorily individually.

When we connect all the four ESCs to the KK2 board and accordingly give power to all of them in parallel with the same battery, the KK2 board refuses to start. The battery outputs 11.95V. It first strikes if battery is at fault, but in my opinion, if the battery can sustain a motor at full throttle, it should be able to give enough current to make sure that KK2 starts up.? Correct me if I am wrong.

When we give power to the KK2 board externally with a lipo battery, the KK2 starts up normally. The ESCs beep but after calibration beeps, none of the motors spin. I have tried to calibrate the ESCs by holding the 1&4 buttons and carrying out the process, as suggested by many, but what I have noticed is that the motors spin when we are still holding the 1&4 buttons and stop immediately when we release the buttons.

I have tried arming and disarming the KK2 board but to no success. The motors just wouldn't spin even if the KK2 was armed or disarmed.

And also any help to ascertain the properties of the battery other than voltage would be greatly appreciated.

Any suggestions or advice would be helpful.

Below are the pics attached of my quadcopter.

Motor:

IMG_20150628_210646.jpg

ESC:

IMG_20150628_210747.jpg

KK2.1.5 board

IMG_20150628_210842.jpg

Receiver:

IMG_20150628_210936.jpg

Battery:

IMG_20150628_211040.jpg

Frame + electronics