Race-worthy V-tail quad frame?

pelotron

Hello all,

I've been flying RC for a few years, and FPV for about a year on a Windestal Tricopter V3, and have recently joined a local FPV racing group. Obviously I need to build a race-worthy craft, but I think all the run of the mill quad frames are boring looking. I considered a Baby Tricopter, but that would be my 3rd tricopter build so I want to do something different... what about a v-tail?

A v-tail would be awesome and I've been searching around the past few days trying to find a frame, but I can not believe that I'm not turning up anything besides the Lynxmotion Mini Hunter (283 size) and the Armattan Mini V-tail (258 size). Those are good looking frames for sure, but they still seem to be a touch too big. The Armattan comes close, but the website says 7" props are ideal and my racing group limits aircraft to 6" props.

Are there really no other v-tails out there for sale that are closer to around 200 size? I've seen the Eachine but I only want a frame kit. I've only ever been slow flying so something very durable is definitely a requirement as I learn to race (which rules out the FT v-tail).

If anyone knows of a good race-worthy v-tail frame kit, please help!

Darkback2

Any reason why you want a v-tail over an X quad or H-racer? What advantages do you see in a V-tail that you don't think you will find in a traditional quad?

I'm asking because flat frames look to be pretty standard and you may find that you have to roll your own if you are looking for something different.

:-(

pelotron

I'd prefer a v-tail simply for the novelty of it; they just look awesome. And the one technical advantage would be higher yaw authority. A disadvantage would be speed due to the tail inefficiency, but from what I've seen I think pilot skill and flying consistency has a much larger affect on race outcomes than raw speed.

Ocean