Roll Problem With My New Ugly Pixhawk Octocopter

baddox

I'm new to the Pixhawk and Arducopter in general, so I'm wondering if any of you guys have experience with it or APM and help me out. This is my first venture outside of the KK2 world!

I'm working with all stock Arducopter 3.1 settings, octocopter, plus configuration.

It wants to roll to the right. I can only even it out with full left input. The accelerometer is calibrated, and the artificial horizon in Mission Planner displays correctly. All radio channels display correctly in Mission Planner. Motor order and direction was verified via the "motors" command. Prop direction and flight controller orientation have been triple-checked (at least).

Also, I find the throttle to be ridiculously hot. The little bursts at the beginning are a single "notch" in the Taranis' ratcheted throttle stick. When I take off, that's two or three notches, so well below 25% throttle.

Also, the pitch (elevator) is reversed, even though it looked like it was showing up correctly in Mission Planner. That one's an easy fix, but it feels weird.

Here's the video from my maiden indoor test (center yellow prop is the "front"):

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dXdoukJW7Zo&feature=youtu.be

Mustang7302

I would suggest that your APM is 180* out of phase with the front of the copter. If it want to roll heavily in one direction, it is trying to level itself with what it thinks is counter input but is really just exaggerating the issue. This is also supported by your pitch input to craft response being backwards, despite being correct in the configuration utility.

Dumpster Jedi

The One Who Speaks
I This is also supported by your pitch input to craft response being backwards, despite being correct in the configuration utility.