spoon fed

flying newb

Good day to all. I have been flying for several years but stopped for a while. When I came back on the scene, everything I owned was antiquated. Mostly rotor, Ive had a couple of 3 channel planes, couple of inexpensive drones. I now want to start building some foamy planes. I started by trying to build the fly on the wall with and old mcx copter I had. It did not ever fly. I had too heavy of motors, I believe.
So I just have a couple of questions to get started.
#1 is a 2212 1400kv ok to get started with the swappable series? 8" blade ( I would like to try the Delta wing)
#2 500ah 2cell or 3cell? and is that enough battery for that setup?
I believe that will get me started. I have tons of questions and I've been thankful for the videos and forum of this very site.
However late I may be, thanks to FT for literally everything that they have put into it.

quorneng

Master member
A normal 2212 14kV is rated for a maximum of 16A. A 500mAh battery is a bit small if the motor has a prop to use this sort of power.
A 1300 mAh would be a more typical size.
The pitch of a prop makes a big difference to the power the motor absorbs/ An 8x4 or 7x6 should be ok for a 2212 1400kV on a 3s battery.
What size/weight were you thinking of for your delta?

flying newb

Thanks for the quick response.
So not just a clever nickname... I have so much to learn
I was going to purchase a powerpack option with the 2212 1400 kv motor, 30 amp esc and 8060 properller
so that is 8" with 6 degree pitch?

flying newb

Good evening, So I wanted to start with the swappable series from FT, and go from there. I believe the tiled plans for the delta has it a 660 mm.
I don't remember off the top of my head the weight they had it at and I have not done the math on my power pack and receiver pk, but I will tonight. I believe the 6 degrees on the pitch is the only variable that is not in the recommended pkg.

Merv

Site Moderator
Staff member