Into the deep end

InfinityACE

Hello,

I'm brand new to the hobby but have been wanting to get into RC planes since I was a kid. For Christmas, my family got me a Mighty Mini to get me started and also the new F4 kit. As an amateur woodworker and overall tinkerer, the build process of the F4 doesn't scare me as much as it probably should :) Looking forward to getting started once the rest of my servos arrive. I'll try to post build pictures along the way and please pardon all of the questions I'll probably be asking here shortly!

Are there any builders out there in the Franklin, TN area?

Josh (not related to the flite test Josh)

Tench745

Master member
Which Mighty Mini did you get?

Some of them are bigger handfuls than others.

The F4 is an advanced build. For an amateur woodworker/tinkerer, it is possible, but I recommend familiarizing yourself with the material and techniques before you jump in on the kit.
Similarly, it is often advised to start with a trainer plane when learning to fly. You want to start on something relatively slow, stable, and well behaved, with enough power to get out of trouble.

The F4 is not necessarily those things, but it is a fine plane to work up to. It's useful to have a goal to work towards; gives you direction and helps keep up the motivation.

InfinityACE

I got the mighty mini tiny trainer MKR2. I like that I can build it up as a 3 channel and then swap the wings to go 4 channel. I figure I'll learn to fly on it while building the F4. I've been watching the build videos for the both planes so I'm anxious to get started. That said, I'm not anxious to turn the F4 into a lawn dart so I'll try to get plenty of flying done and more comfortable with the smaller plane first. I'm super thankful for all of the build videos hopefully I'll be able to get in touch with a local rc club once the weather gets better here in Tennessee.

Tench745

Master member