Straying from the build plans, question about CG

From what I understand if I increase or decrease the the plans lets say 125% or 80% the CG should be on the same mark. (shouldn't it).

but what if I change the wing design, not the shape just the design. like use a different airfoil on the delta, or switch the versa wing to a KF airfoil. I considered trying to make a thin Armin style airfoil for the F22 mostly just to increase the wing strength and prevent the flex problem i'm having (pic below). I was going to take the versa design and just reshape to match the wings of the F22. I know the F22 is supposed to be a simple build, but I'd be willing to put the time in for a more durable plane (for flying not crashing). If not the Armin airfoil can I get away with dual layering the wing portion of the design?

IF I can change the airfoil. how will this effect the CG, considering the fact I've changed the planes means to create lift, does this make a difference?

I'm still a noob and this might be more advance plane stuff but take a look at my F22 below. the nose is trashed and that's my fault, but the the flex in the wing is from flying (10-15 mph winds). I probably have 10 flights on it.

-Jes

image.jpg

andybenton

NERD!!!! :)
Scaling the planes up will indeed move the cg.
Changing the angle of a delta will also change the cg, as for the airfoil changing the cg? No clue sir

makattack

Winter is coming
Mentor
If I deviate from the FT plans, I would check the CG with some glide tests with everything mounted (including battery). Isn't the general rule of thumb that the CG should be 25% back from the leading edge of a wing? I thought I recall that from the flitetest podcasts on designing your own plane.

Just found a published article that should be useful for you:
http://flitetest.com/articles/easy-aircraft-design

Last edited: