Thinking of Quitting RC

jack10525

I've been flying semi successfully since 2016. But for the past couple of years I'm not getting any better at flying and seem to make excuses not to fly. I have 2 brand new planes that have never been flown mostly because I am afraid to crash them. These are pnf planes. 1 cost $150 and the other cost $300. I've built literally 60-80 flite test scratch builds and speed builds. I don't have a great area to fly in and it is always either too windy, too hot or too wet in South Florida. My gear has always been on the lower cost side but I've still spent a small fortune on this hobby and I am maybe just an intermediate flyer. I just spent another $300 on an fpv drone that I can't fly either. I think it is time to give up and find a cheaper hobby.

Mr NCT

Site Moderator
Just a couple of things to think about-
Do you enjoy building? I do so crashes aren't great but they are an excuse to build more.
Have you tried a stabilizer like the Aura5 to use while your flying skills catch up?
How about a club for a short stint to get some instruction?

Or, maybe, it's like me and playing a guitar - It just isn't your thing. But something has kept you at it this long. Find that thing and focus on it.

JDSnavely

In spite of what some may say, I like SAFE. It allows me to fly stress free on windy days with most any plane I own. I will fly full control on even my expensive planes if the conditions are nice and I'm enjoying the thrill. I bought the NX8 so I could have forward programing. My 2 sons and I also like to try the Flite Test planes on full control right from the start with an inexpensive receiver.