Using Tx/Rx for multiple applications

CWP8

I am new to RC and recently purchased a Flite Test Cub for my son. We have a very silly question but please bear with us...

My son is at the same time planning to build his own RC boat - the plan is to build one that is low/will not get wet, so we were also wondering whether we can use our “air” transmitter/receivers for this DIY RC boat that we are making. I appreciate the “air” transmitter/receivers are not waterproof, but are there any technical challenges we need to be aware of? What about if we later make a DIY RC car - can "air" Tx/Rx be used?

Thanks!

Flyingshark

Master member
I think the short answer is yes. The longer answer is that ground transmitters have a different configuration from an air transmitter, with a steering wheel and throttle trigger. That shouldn't cause problems though.

PeterSripol has used an air transmitter for a couple different car projects, so it should be fine.

TheFlyingBrit

Legendary member
I am new to RC and recently purchased a Flite Test Cub for my son. We have a very silly question but please bear with us...

My son is at the same time planning to build his own RC boat - the plan is to build one that is low/will not get wet, so we were also wondering whether we can use our “air” transmitter/receivers for this DIY RC boat that we are making. I appreciate the “air” transmitter/receivers are not waterproof, but are there any technical challenges we need to be aware of? What about if we later make a DIY RC car - can "air" Tx/Rx be used?

Thanks!
You can use 2.4 on any type RC. You can only use 75MHz on boats and only 72MHz on aircraft . Water can adversely effect 2.4 more so than 75MHz but if you keep the active portion of the antenna (that last few mms) as high as you get it on a boat, you will probably be okay.

CWP8