What do quad peoples think about AMA Flight Fields - asking for a friend...

hyperbolic

So I'm pretty new to the RC scene in general, but I've put a solid two months of almost daily flying with my FT 210 quad. So I really love FPV, but finding good places to fly is a real challenge. When it's nice out, most of my spots have soccer games going on or just people out enjoying the parks. I'm always careful about avoiding squishy obstacles so I pack up and leave when I see people coming into an area.

Because of all that and because I want to get more plugged into the local community I've started to look at these AMA Flight Fields - basically these medium sized fields set aside to fly RC (which I'm sure you know about LOL). The main thing I want is a place to roll into a burn through a solid 6 packs to practice things like going though gates.

Here is my experience so far (but I want to know what you guys think in general about these places)

... So last Thursday I stopped by my first Flight Field during their "trainer night" and met some of the guys. They were all very friendly, but it was clear that I wouldn't be flying my quad there anytime soon. At least not that night. One of the guys suggested I return over the weekend - there seems to be a kind of vetting process going on and that if I were to fly my quad it would be at the far end of the field over a "heliport" of some kind with a spotter.

As I looked around I couldn't help but notice that most of fliers have small fixed wing LOS airplanes and that the field itself was about 800 meters with no obstacles. Also one of the rules is that you have to stay in that 800 meter box. I asked one of the "drone guys" if they ever put gates up and he said that they do depending on who is there but that the gates basically can damage the fixed wing planes.

My Final Two Cents ->