Which Flite Test Build Kit for All out Speed?

eddyalce

Hi All, I am new to this forum. Looking to build my first Flite Test scratch build and purchase my first kit. Which one of these speed build kits can go the fastest? I would like to get around 85MPH on one of these.

Is the FT Spitfire or FT Racer the fastest airframe?? Or is there a faster air frame that I should look at? What type of hot glue gun do i need to use? I have one but it is the Low heat type. Will i need to get the High Heat glue gun? Also this is my first time building from scratch, how hard are these to assemble?

Thanks,

Eddy

adamd

skunkworx hobbies
versa wing i have found to be the fastest but also the best flight/durability characteristics and being only 8 pieces to cut/ glue makes it buildable in a few mins to an hour (once its cut out). you will need a hot gun for the long glue runs to stay hot while folding. 6 bucks at walmart for a cheep good gun

Tactical Ex

Very good questions for your first build (first ever build or first FT scratchbuild?). I built a modified Versa wind with a center section for my first build and it flew a lot faster than I expected, it was almost too much for my first plane. I can say that it is possible to build with a low temp glue/glue gun but it was a huge pain and you have to work really fast (I had to turn the air and fan off to make it work). If you haven't bought a glue gun yet make sure you buy a high temp glue gun and hi temp glue. As far as how hard it is to build its actually rather easy the hardest part is getting the rear wing tips to match when folding the wing over.

Adam, could you provide the name and model # for that glue gun or a link if you get the chance? I ran out of low temp glue for my wife's glue gun so I might as well get a better gun while I'm out buying glue :)

eddyalce