Will the Blade Nano QX transmitter work with other DSMX receivers?

pungbjoern

I currently have the transmitter I got for my Blade Nano QX. If I were to buy some other system, provided that it's DSMX, would my existing transmitter work? Would I be able to bind it, etc? The reason I ask is that 1. I quite like the feel of it and 2. if I'm just starting out with a larger size, it would be nice not having to immediately blow 200€ on a transmitter.

Craftydan

Hostage Taker of Quads
Staff member
Mentor
Will it bind?

Yes.

Do you want to use it?

Probably not. It's a short range TX, and very limited in it's capability.

To put this into perspective, the two things in this hobby most likely to survive a crash without damage are the transmitter and battery charger. Investing more in these items for something that will last is money well spent. The sooner you move up to a nicer radio, the more life you'll get out of it.

pungbjoern

While I absolutely agree that, in the long run, a high quality TX is desirable, I need to know that a 250 or 450 class machine will satisfy my needs w.r.t where I fly and wind etc (if you'll remember our discussion from another thread). If I take my new rig out there, and it turns out that it behaves just as poorly as my old one, I've wasted X euros for something that will never happen. If I take it out there cheaply, and it turns out that it works, I can always go and buy a better TX.

razor02097

Rogue Drone Pilot
I think of it this way... if I spent $300USD (about 270 euros) on a model, I wouldn't want a cheap transmitter to be the weak link that takes it down. To me that would be a waste of money. Not much different than the people that spend $1,000 on a DSLR camera then complains when a $25 Amazon carry case didn't protect it when it accidently fell out of the car when you opened the door!