XSR-M wiring to vortex 150

globularions

I'm looking for a howto that specifically talks about wiring the FrSky XSR-M with the Vortex 150. I've found numerous videos on using other FrSky products but can't seem to find any that talk about the XSR-M + vortex 150 wiring.

The cabling that came with the XSR-M seems to suggest I need to do some soldering but I'm new to quads/TX/RX and not sure about which wires go where. I know the XSR-M has a power, ground, SBUS and smart port but how does that connect with the provided cables in the XSR-M package?

I'm at a loss with googling anything that shows a howto with the XSR-M vs the other XSR* products.

Thanks

PsyBorg

Wake up! Time to fly!
In Tj's video at 2:09 you see he has replaced a cable for Taranis receivers. The 5 volt wire (red) is the rear most pin the ground is the center pin and the sbus pin is the remaining pin. Match those to the proper place on your receiver. If you have to don't be afraid to cut cables in half and solder matching ends for your needs together. As long as 5v matches ground matches and signal matches there is no problem doing this.

If your confident in your soldering skills you can follow the steps here and wire direct to the flight controller. PAY ATTENTION specifically to the parts where the pads are soldered to supply proper voltages. More then likely they have already been done so make sure they are the proper ones for the XSR-M

http://raceflightinfo.com/2017/08/04/frsky-xsr-m-to-revolt-v2-setup/

globularions

That is an excellent video. But 2 of the 3 cables that come with the xsrm don’t actually fit it except for the one with 4 wires- volts ground sbus and smart port according to the paper that came with it. If I should use the other packaged cables by cutting and soldering them to the one cable that does fit for the xsrm then what do I do with the smart port (assuming I at least use the sbus ).