Big Fat Newbie Here...Just putting it out there and...

clutch81

So...hey yall. In Alabama here. Not a newbie as far as aircraft, fundamentals of flight, aircraft terminology, etc is concerned, but with the whole RC craft and i stress "CRAFT", because that's what this certainly is and I want to learn as much as I can.

My "dream" is to make my own C-130 Herc out of fiberglass, making a plug, and all that stuff, but I know I have to crawl/walk before I can run so I'm starting out with foamboard and a "simple" off of my head scratch design.

From doing a bit of homework and doing the trial and error method my son and I have crafted a fuselage, wing, elevator, and rudder.

PrototypeRC.png

The RED CIRCLES are where I intend on placing servos (2 for ailerons on wing hooked up with a "Y" cable, 2 for elevators placed inside the fuselage with a "Y", and 1 for rudder placed on the side of the vertical stab).

The dimensions are: 9in x 30in WING, 6in x 24in FUSELAGE, 6in x 7.5 VStab w/ Rud., 6in x 18in HStab w/ Elev. The height of the fuselage is 3in.

I plan on using the blue TURNIGY servos with them being lightweight and looks to me a famous pick for foamies.

I have in mind a 6ch Tx as well as Rx.

We were thinking about leaving it cockpitless and have the wing set right on the fuselage, but we have a cockpit idea in place to give it a little more lift.

I did a motor, prop, ESC calculator online and came up with:

-4 x 3 prop (thinking I might need a slightly bigger one)
-1200kv Motor (also thinking a slightly "bigger" one)
-20A ESC (Im guessing bigger motor will need more Amps)

Granted, I did some guessing on weights due to the fact I have no clue what all the components coupled with the dry weight of the aircraft weighs. ~2lbs???

I was thinking on buying the FT Power Pack B to begin with along with 1300mAh battery.

----------------------------