Despise Hot Glue - Looking for an alternative adhesive...

VonZipper

Hey all! I've been building balsa models since late 70's and glow-powered RC hobby since early 80's but I'm new to the FT and electric RC Worlds. I've been out of the hobby for 20 years and thought the Flite Test models would be a great way to pick up the hobby again. I started building my FT Simple Storch with great excitment yesterday. But my enthusiasm died very quickly with my experience with hot glue. I began building my wing and quickly ran into trouble with the glue stick feeding properlly. I initially used an Adtech 23-watt glue gun but a little more than half way through applying glue to the leading edge joint and box beam, the gun would not feed and, of course, the glue beads hardened before I could finish. I had to remove the dried glue to attempt to complete the process in time to make a good joint. I switched to an Adtec 40-watt two temperture gun but had the same result. I repeated this process 3 or 4 times, with the same result each time (my shop floor was covered in dryed glue peelings!). I finally was able to the job done using both guns but now I'm throughly disgusted with hot gluing and am not optimistic about completing the remainder of the build with it. Does anyone have any idea what I might be doing wrong or can suggest an alternative to hot glue. I've previously used Liquid Nails Foam and Project Board Adhesive in model railroading with great sucess. Wondering if anyone has had any experience with that product foam airplanes? I believe it is water based so not sure if it would be durable enough for RC airplane use.

Thanks, Hot Glue Hater

Liam B

Well, you might be having problems because of the gun your using. I personally use the one of the FT store and love the way it works, no problems whatsoever. Adtech Pro200 Glue Gun (200 Watt) https://store.flitetest.com/adtech-pro200-glue-gun-200-watt/.