Drone flipping on takeoff - Help!

Hi all,

Other than a whoop style drone, I am a noob but wanted something for outside. I purchased a (very dusty box!) Blade Conspiracy 220 from a hobby store about an hour away. Bound it to my Spektrum NX8 following all the recommendations in the manual. Without props everything seemed to spin up the right way but a motor or two would sometimes just sit there on the workbench. So before trashing parts I took it back to the hobby store. They assured me everything was fine and my setup was good. So we put props on and they took it out into the parking lot to verify it flew good.

Which it did. Not much, just a few feet off the ground in the self leveling mode to verify pitch, roll, yaw, throttle. All is well.

So... back home to have some fun. Put it on the ground, arm in self leveling... and it flips over at the slightest throttle.

Nothing has changed since the successful flight at the hobby store. I've looked around the web and found lots of suggestions, but nothing that makes sense. It was working and all it did was change location.

Any ideas? I'm quite lost and would like to avoid 2 hours on the road to go back and forth to the hobby store.

Merv

Site Moderator
Staff member
Double check the props are in the correct position. I’m guessing several are not correct.

They were all correct - again, nothing had changed since the hobby shop successful flight earlier today.

Did some more experimenting - put on the 2 blade props since I consider them to be a bit more sacrificial. Then went on the driveway instead of the grass. Was able to take off and fly around a bit in all modes, then the battery went down. Changed batteries and the takeoff problem continued. I did have luck getting airborne in acro mode then switching to self leveling and flying around a bit. Will do some more tomorrow if the weather cooperates.