Dual rates and Expo on a quadcopter

Mikeflight

Hi, I have just started out with quad-copters (multi-rotors). I have been flying fixed wing for a few years and was wondering if I can use dual rates and expo on my quad to smooth out the sensitivity movements on the sticks?

I have built two quads. One is a 450 size and the latest one I have built is a 250 size. The 450 uses the Pixhawk flight board with 950kv emax motors and it fly's pretty smooth and not too twitchy on the sticks. The small 250 has the NAZE32 full and 2204kv emax motors. In the hover it is nice and still and not twitching about, but is very sensitive to stick movements, which for me makes it harder to control. Can I use dual rates and expo to calm down the controls? It may well be me and my flying style. Are these small racing type quads very sensitive and is this just normal for their size? I don't intend to race the 250 one. It's just for fun and general flying. The 250 is stable and fine in hover, no problem with PID settings that I can see. It is the sensitivity with the 250 that annoys me. So will dual rates and expo help?

Sorry for rambling on a bit but just wanted to give as much information as I can. Don't always get the best weather here in Scotland so being new to multirotors I try and fly on the best days available.

Thanks in advance folks.

Mike.

Snarls

Gravity Tester
Mentor
Hey Mike, yea generally miniquads are more squirrely out of the gate because they are so overpowered. You can add dual rates and expo but it will cut down on the resolution of your control. It is better if your receiver gets the full unfiltered command from the transmitter and then to let the flight controller add the expo or rate. On the Pixhawk that is done more through PIDs, but on the Naze you can set rates and expo explicitly in the Cleanflight/Betaflight configurator.