Excited noob! which flag should I fly?

First off let me start by saying, HI!

I am a Instrumentation and Electrical technician in the oil field in North Eastern Utah. I am very excited! I finally am making the plunge and am getting into the RC hobby!

I think one of my goals it to fly FPV racing quads, but that will be down the line a little bit. So to start off I want to buy a Nano QX to start practicing flying a quadcopter. I also want to build an FT simple storch with my two sons. (5 and 3 years old.)

My issue is that I am not sure what transmitter I should get. I am torn... I am debating between two different transmitters:

Spektrum DX6
http://www.horizonhobby.com/dx6-6-channel-dsmx-reg%3B-transmitter-with-ar610-receiver-spm6700

or
FrSky Taranis X9D
http://www.alofthobbies.com/frsky-taranis-plus-x8r-combo.html

I like the Taranis due to it being modular, and uber programmable.

I like the Spektrum due to it being so widely used and pretty much plug and play with everything I am interested in. (and the wireless buddy boxing.)

What are the general thoughts of people around here?

Thank you in advance for the advice! :D

earthsciteach

I come down on the side of the Taranis. Why? Because you can buy a cheap module that will talk to those Spektrum BNFs if that's what you want. And you still get a system that is better than Spektrum when you pop in the FrSky module!

Biff45452

I have the dx6 v2 and I really like it. It was easy to figure out and feels really smooth on on the sticks (compared to my dx5e).

T-Reu

Yes, do go with the Taranis! My first transmitter was a DX8 and it was great. Now I have a Taranis and it is so much more powerful! Actually I converted all my models to FrSky and sold all my Spektrum gear on eBay.

AkimboGlueGuns

Biplane Guy
Mentor
Taranis. You might have a bit of learning to do before you can program it really well, but a $200 taranis will do anything a $800 transmitter will do.