Experimental KFM 3D project.

Hai-Lee

Old and Bold RC PILOT
I have a number od 3D aircraft including my latest addition a HK Mini Saturn which was gifted to me.

Whilst I do like the concept my thumbs are really old and hard to educate even though my brain knows all of the theory. Yes I manage to crash one from time to time still!

Anyway I was cruising through my library of FB designs and realised that I have not designed a profile 3D model as yet so this is my first attempt to come up with a working design.

Parameters/features. (Updated as the build progresses)
Wing Span: 800mm
Overall length: 800mm
All up weight:
Flight endurance in hover:
Motor/ESC/Prop:

Goals: Use FB for as much of the structure as possible without adding too much or any reinforcing.
No powerpod setup and therefore definitely not a swappable design.
Servos 3.7 or 5 gram - 3 of

Step one I have started collecting the largest offcut pieces of 5mm FB that I have, (Both new pieces and old pieces which have paper peeling or other surface imperfections).

This will be a spare time project so it will progress slowly especially where i strike an issue where the solution is not to my immediate liking.

Feel free to jump in with suggestions or questions!

Have fun!

Hai-Lee

Old and Bold RC PILOT
Here the FB is rather heavy. From previous experiments it was noted that each layer of paper weighed approximately 30% of the weight of the same area sheet. Which means paper 30%, Foam 40%, paper 30%. In this build I will be removing as much of the paper as is possible and the external finish of the craft will be bare, (unsealed), foam except for hinge tape where fitted.

With the weight or the paper in mind I found 3 pieces of FB of suitable length and a width of around 150mm. These pieces will suffice for the fuselage. I just need to decide on the fuselage profile. Perhaps something similar to the HK Reaktor.