First Fixed wing scratch build

SGrog

Good day all!

I have had some experience with fixed wing aviation in the past, and am hoping to build a large bird that would be intricate in terms of capabilities, but simple in design, etc. The plan I am designing, for the full scale design will have a 12' wingspan based off of my figures and the fuselage will be around 6 inches or a little more wide.

Before I build the giant, I am going to develop a scale 4' wingspan of what I intend to develop, and not put any of the advanced components on, as I will develop those separately on the side. I will primarily build it out of balsa, and there is a place locally that you can rent a laser cutter, which is what I plan to do.

My questions are how do I make sure I have enough support to hold up the wings under large wing loads; Second, Im guessing here, but the whole assembly might be 25-30 lbs, how would I choose motors that can produce enough thrust? Im not looking for acrobatic type characteristics, but something that would fly like a C-130 or similar aircraft.

General Information about final design:

• 12' wingspan, likely a root chord of 12-14", wing up high similar to a Cessna 206
  • Likely powered by two electric motors, but would like to fly with one if one fails.
  • Fuselage between 6 and 8 inches wide, and equally tall, up to 9 inches tall
  • Fuselage would be around 5' long, with a twin tail like a B-25
  • Retractable landing gear similar to a PBY Catalina
  • Central "bomb bay" underneath wings essentially
  • Rear camera pod that would drop down like a B-24 bottom turret when in flight
  • Front mounted camera in nose
  • Hard points if possible.

Again, I would not start out designing the above, but a basic flying proof of concept, and designing the gear, bay, and pod seperately, and integrating in the final design.

Is this unrealistic, or what are peoples comments?

rcspaceflight

creator of virtual planes