Frustrated? Feel my pain...

Orcoz

Hey there FT world.

So I've been flying for roughly 4 years after a long hiatus (kids). I've got a large selection of foamies, from the old GWS 109 & P51 to a Parkzone Corsair, Micro T28, Spit, Bixler 1 (FPV), DH Vampire... and then add all of the Flitetest builds I've built and enjoyed. Delta/Old Fogey/Cruiser/Baby Blender/Versa (x3) and the FT22.

Addicted? :p

Notice what's missing? Multirotors!

It's not like I haven't tried. I started waaay back almost 2 years ago when the original H-quad came out, with the KK board with the blue knobs for 'dialing in' your I & P. Wife and kiddos called it my 'roflcopter'. All it ever did was flip over as soon as I touched the throttle, breaking multiple parts until finally one motor shaft got bent. Quad 1, Orcoz 0.

Next up, with my three remaining motors I decide that I'm more of a tricopter guy anyway. Not trusting my ability to get David's yaw mechanism built correctly, I opted for the HobbyKing knockoff, the X900 frame. Frame is great, KK2.0 flashed just fine (V1.5 at the time) but heaven help me I would smoke the servo within seconds of getting it off the ground. Servo was the 939mg that was recommended. 3 of them sitting in the trash bin before I tried a different one suggested in RCGroups... it's still intact but the same spin/flip/crash sequence that I'm now used to resulted in a destroyed motor mount on the yaw mechanism. BLeh.

So I stepped away for awhile. My thought process was that the technology is moving SO fast, that someone significantly more capable than me will figure this out, and I can just buy my way to success.