FTFC21: Build-ruary by Scotto (build skill 2. pilot 1.4?

Scotto

Elite member
Hey Im new to the hobby and forum posting in general. Ive built one plane and loved it and that got the wheels turning wanting to build much more. The foamboard is really fun to work with very cool material. So this is probly too ambitious for me to do 4 in a month but challenge accepted.

1. El Chup... my own take on a Geebee hopelly slow but agile?
2. Curtis F-9C Sparrowhawk from card paper plan scaled up x6
3. FT Duster tapered wings
4. FT Storch

Last edited:

Scotto

Elite member
Everyone loves the look of the iconic Geebee. I wanted to try something different just to see and weve been watching Planes alot lately so it just made sense.
El Chup 3 days in...
20210205_013943.jpg
I want a kind of a ducted prop thing and with normal geebee you got to have a 12in or more prop just to get air past the fat body. But its an excuse to have something fat and not look so out of place. I want it more slow and floaty. Im putting elevons on it for no good reason.
I wish i would have marked at least 90 degree marks on the fuse when it was flat.
20210206_234827.jpg
I traced a profile of a Clark YH in inkscape, made it 7.3 in long by 1.125 tall which is like 140% thicker. I marked where I wanted to crease or leave flat. Then I measured with a soft tape and transfered those numbers to the fb. 20210207_120306.jpg
I tried a window screen roller and a soldering iron making creases. I made spars 3/4 tall.
20210207_123916.jpg
It became obvious I had cut the bottom too short and the spar too tall but Im NOT starting over on that.
20210207_124126.jpg
This is the motor mount. Its 1in squares 3/16 balsa. Would have been nice to have 1 1/4 but it looks fine.
20210208_115006.jpg