Hello and a question

Wmcewan

Hello all!
I rec’d a whoop drone for Christmas, and I’ve been having a blast!!

My question is around video reception and DVR recording quality.
This is the BetaFPV VR01 goggles, and a Nanohawk (25mW VTX) on channel R1.
I lose signal pretty quickly and the DVR recording looks even worse.

What makes the DVR recording so poor, and are there ways for me to improve it?
Here’s a link to a sample video:
https://photos.app.goo.gl/4ccmLHVxiJViKogV8

Is the DVR in the VR01s just junk?
Or the cheap SD card I put in it?
Or the dipole on the nanohawk and the antenna on the googles?
Or is 25mW just never going to be enough? (And is it worth adding an external VTX?)

Tench745

Master member
I am no FPV expert, they'll be along shortly, but here's what I do know:

The recording quality of the DVR in your goggles will only ever be as good as the signal it is getting. I'm sure your SD card is fine. If you want a nice clean video you'd need some sort of on-board recording. A different antenna may increase your range or signal strength in a given direction, but I'm not informed enough to offer advice on that aspect.
25mW is not a whole lot of power, but it'll do fine through a wall and/or over a reasonable range. Flying around with an entire house between you and the quad will cut out signal pretty quickly, as you've noticed.
You could go to a higher powered VTX, but you start running into FCC regulations and Amateur Radio licensing when you go that route. I'm not clear on all the specifics there either.

Wmcewan

I am no FPV expert, they'll be along shortly, but here's what I do know:

The recording quality of the DVR in your goggles will only ever be as good as the signal it is getting. I'm sure your SD card is fine. If you want a nice clean video you'd need some sort of on-board recording. A different antenna may increase your range or signal strength in a given direction, but I'm not informed enough to offer advice on that aspect.