Help - Failure to launch

CHSFlite

(Full discloser...this is my first RC anything. Absolute beginner)

For the past few weeks I've been piecing together my Rotor Bones tricopter and am using the following:
Blue Wonder Motors (1300kv)?
Multistar 15a ESC's
kk2.1 (latest firmware)
2200mah 3 cell lipo
8 inch props
Orange R615 transmitter
Dx6i receiver
mini servo (Turnigy?)

Finally plugged everything in today and did the BIND for the Rx / Tx. The KK2.1 is set to Tri-copter and the motors are all going in the correct direction(Clockwise, counter, and clockwise). I tried 2 test flights which resulted in boom / motor #2 flipping hard both times. Since this is my first flight ever I'm not 100% on the controls but based on my video below I think my controls are not synced correctly. The Dx6i is set to Helicopter and the kk board is set to tricopter.

My thought is that that ESC's aren't set up correctly. I haven't done anything with them except for plug them into the KK board.

Craftydan

Hostage Taker of Quads
Staff member
Mentor
Eureka!

I was half way through writing up troubleshooting for you then re-watched the video -- Brother, you've got your board mounted backwards! Guaranteed instant flip. The buttons should be facing the tail.

BTW, CHS, Welcome to the forum!

CHSFlite

Thanks for all of the responses and I think I'm getting close. I reversed the board (buttons now facing backwards) and followed the KK2 set up videos (btw my firmware on the kk2.1 is 1.6s1). My Aileron and Elevator were going in the opposite direction so I reversed them on my Dx6i and they are now working correctly.

Something I'm now confused about are props. My assumption was that all props were basically the same but in the KK2 Checklist video the person mentioned "Clockwise props" and "Counter clockwise props". Are there different directional props?

Cyberdactyl

Misfit Multirotor Monkey