HOTAS Cockpit project

Drewble

Hey y'all! I am a 19-year-old FPV pilot and I am building out a full-scale HOTAS setup in the back of my Chevy Express Van (I am a vanlifer).
My plan currently is to connect all joystick and rudder systems to a PC that is able to combine and configure all inputs to a single virtual joystick that can then be output via a USB to PPM converter. I know this sort of system has been used in the past to translate USB HOTAS inputs to the trainer port on a transmitter such as my TX16S. One thing I am unsure of is how many channels are able to be passed to the radio through the trainer port; I want to be able to use switches on my HOTAS and eventually incorporate head tracking as well.
I think I could use a direct connection from the PPM stream to a transmitter module via a number of converters (PPM to CRSF, etc), but I would prefer to be able to use EdgeTX to handle the conversion for me to ensure versatility and enable me to easily swap between radio links using the JR bay.
My primary experience has been with ELRS but I plan to start flying fixed wings so I am unsure of how to best swap to using Spectrum links(or should I just continue to install ELRS receivers on the fixed wings I get?)
Any advice is greatly appreciated! :)

JasonK

Participation Award Recipient

looks like 8 via the trainer port and it also looks like you can do s-bus on the bottom connector for your TX16x (which should get you the possibility of a faster update cycle).

8 could be a bit limiting with lots of switches + head tracking [2 channels] + controls [4 channels]... meaning you would need to mux your switches into 2 channels (there is a bardwell video showing how to do it on a openTX radio to do so to talk to a FC... same type of thing should be able to be done for your setup to your radio)

LitterBug

Techno Nut