Help! Imax b6 charging issues

Nunki0

Hello,
I've had this charger for a few months now and it has always worked perfectly. Once, I tried to power it from a 3s liion at about 12.2V. I'm pretty sure that I did not reversed the polarity, but anyway there was a big spark when I plugged in the liion and some smoke went out. After that, the charger would still power up with its power supply but once il start to charge something, the screen would slowly turn off and the charger would reset with a puff of smoke. I opened it up, but I couldn't see anything looking burnt whatsoever. I never located the origin of the smoke because now when I try to charge it says that the connection is broken, even though I'm absolutely sure it is not. That's all I know, and I'm not good enough in electronics to know what to test.

danskis

Master member
I'm not an electronics expert or even a beginner but I've released enough "magic smoke" to know that once you do that you're screwed. That thing is probably trash. Sorry to deliver the bad news.

Shurik-1960

Do not despair and throw away anything. The IMAX B6 is very easy to repair. Here is a replacement card that shows the names of the electronic components. If you do not understand and do not know how to solder, just print out the card and take it to the phone repair technician.He will simply change the elements and your charging will start working again. I have repaired more than 20 such chargers for aircraft modelers for free. Basically, it is a replacement for :IRF7413, IRF7416, L7805CV .I always change these 3 elements together!!!!

Attachments

• карта ремонта  IMAX B6.gif
    карта ремонта IMAX B6.gif
    36.5 KB · Views: 0

Nunki0

Hi,
Thanks @Shurik-1960, I will try to follow this.
I finally found something that looks burnt: the NCE4435 power mosfet near the power plug. I'ill join a picture. I have similar looking components in some scrap electronics, but I'm not sure if it is compatible...

Attachments

• 20231227_073100.jpg