Just Starting the Hobby and I have the 1st of Many Questions

Halcyon2k6

Hello,

I am a complete noob to the RC community. I randomly fell upon the flite test youtube channel and I have been binge watching for almost two months now. When you are deployed in the military and not flying missions what else is there is to do? LOL!

Before I am lit up for not searching through the forum, I have found several different articles in regards to beginners and transmitters, but none of the articles talk about making a hobbie lifetime purchase. So, here's my question.

I am planning to do a scratch build of the Versa Wing with the pusher conversion. I know this is probably well above my skill level as a total new guy, but I like challenges. I just like the design. I also want to learn how to build my first aircraft as I will be crashing it pretty often. I know it will probably take me three times longer and have to build the aircraft probably twice. I am going to be getting the electronics either through Flite Test or my hobby shop once I am stateside. I have everything picked out per the scratch build guidelines from the videos and articles here. My question is what transmitter should I go with? I would like three different budget levels. The "budget" level, mid-range (Nice but not crazy), High-End (Please don't tell my wife) of transmitters. I have been looking at everything from the Spectrum 6XI to the Turnigy 9XR to the FrSky 9XD Taranis. I want something I can continue to grow into for the future. I am planning to eventually end up in FPV quads and possibly even getting into aerial photography with drones.

For my last question, would anyone be interested either in a video blog or a written blog of the build process of building a versa wing with zero RC experience or scratch build experience.

mjmccarron