Motor for more Versa Wing power?

zejackal

FPV Monkey
Hi everyone,

First post! I am pretty new to fixed wing, having flown multis for a couple of years now. I have built a versa wing as well as a blunt nosed versa, and I really love this plane for line of sight and FPV.

IMG_20150503_155418.jpg

IMG_20150422_193759.jpg

IMG_20150505_191409.jpg

The blunt's wings are filled with expanding foam, and it's super durable and flies great. The leading edges of the wing tips near the blunt region protect the camera on any impacts. It flies a Turnigy park 450 1200kv and 1045 prop

On the regular versa I'm using a Turnigy DST 1200 with a slow fly 8045 prop. It flies pretty nice and fast, and is built to FT spec. I'm planning on filling the next one with foam, and making it a short blunt nose for proximity FPV - acrobatics, trees, low flying. Same width as the regular versa, but with the blunt nose for better FPV equipment carrying and hopefully some real oomph.

I expect the expanding foam to add weight, and I'm wondering if anyone has used a slightly more powerful motor with a similar sized prop on the versa wing. There are so many motors to look through to consider motor weight, power and thrust, so I am hoping to tap this community for some knowledge.

Ideally this motor will use a 8045 since that fits perfectly between the elevons, and I have lots of props this size for my warthox quad. Just looking for something that has tons of power for this little wing for after it gains some weight when I fill it with foam.

Thanks

makattack

Winter is coming
Mentor