My Curtis JN-4 Jenny

Davecc

Hello Everyone,
My name is Dave Langkamp and I am a retired industrial designer. I just recently started getting back in RC flying after many years of being away from the hobby. After having followed Flitetest for a couple of years I finally started building again. So I thought I would show everyone my nearly completed Curtis JN-4 Jenny that I have been working on. I designed the plane using Fusion 360 CAD software so that it can be assembled or taken apart in less than five minutes and fit into my Mini Cooper for easy transport. This was accomplished by being able to separate the upper and lower wings from the fuselage and each other for transport. The lower wing is secured to the fuselage using skewers and rubber bands like many of the Flite Test planes. Then the uprights between the wings are slid into slots in the upper and lower wings. The upper wing is rubber banded to the center supports that are located over the front cockpit to hold everything nice and secure.