Need help with FPV range

Recently I have been flying FPV very close to myself but today I tried going out about 530 feet and my video signal got very bad and nearly cut out completely. If you think you know why that happened please reply.

Specs
Goggles - Fatshark predator v2
Tx - 32C TS832 200mw 5.8 ghz
Cloverleaf antennas
Gopro with video out

Montiey

Master Tinkerer
I have no experience, but 200mw should give you some more range than that. do you have your antennas in matching rotation (CW, CW or CWW, CWW)?

Wrong connector

It appears your tx uses a RP-SMA antenna connector and the fat shark use a SMA connector. Check to make sure you have the right connectors on your antennas. SMA have a little nipple on the inside of the connector RP SMA do not. If you bought RP SMA antennas as a set that may be the problem.

bstanley72

What kind of craft? How are the components laid out? What type of environment are you flying in? There are many things that can contribute to a loss of range.

The craft is a flying wing, FPV40. Reciever and transmitter on plane are 15 inches apart on each side of the wing. I am flying in the city but in a large open field with very little trees. I wasn't very high or behind any buildings.

meehan

This is probably not your problem but I should mention it just in case. I bought a couple right hand polarized 5.8 antenna from HK that turned out to be left hand polarized. I was using them with an existing RH setup and they worked great as long as I was within 50-100 meters. I was convinced they were just junk so I popped the mushroom open and sure enough left hand polarized. I should have read the HK forums earlier as others had the same problem. Anyhow they work great as long as they are paired together.

bstanley72