New Guy Needs Help with MultiWii Flight Controller

TheOrigNewGuy

Hello,
I'm new to the hobby, and I'm very excited to get into it!! I'm building a tricopter for the first time and I need some help please. Components I'm using:

• Electrohub Tricopter Kit with Tough Tilt Servo - ES3154 Emax
  • Hobby King F-20a flashed with SimonK. (I verified that all three ESCs work properly after flashing.)
  • hexTronik DT750 Brushless Outrunner 750kv
  • Turnigy 4S 20 - 30 C 3000mAh
  • Ready to Fly Quad's MultiWii Pro 2 with uBlox 6M GPS W/Mounting backplane and compass with PCB Shield and the bluetooth kit. (Found here).
  • Turnigy 9X transmitter and receiver.

I also posted on RCGroups asking for help, here.

Here is as far as I've gotten:
  • The FC only powers up when connected to the computer via USB.
  • When battery is connected and the FC is plugged in via USB the motors will spin according to my input on the throttle of the transmitter (i.e. it starts working properly).
  • When connecting the battery without plugging the FC into the computer via USB the LEDs will be very faint and nothing will power on. I tried powering the GPS, bluetooth and tail servo off of two ESCs and the last ESC reserved for the FC only, but I still get the same dim LED's and the FC not working.
  • GPS Does not work at all. (I've checked my wiring per the RTFQ's website. Maybe it is because I am in my house?).
  • Bluetooth works properly (tested with phone).
  • Tail servo moves but is very glitchy, moves back and forth uncontrollably.
  • I think I still have to do some adjusting on my transmitter because I couldn't get my FC to ARM (when plugged into USB) until I manually programmed the FC to arm via a switch on the transmitter.

Thank you in advance for any help.

makattack

Winter is coming
Mentor