Newbee with balsa / wood question

TTF

PHD in Crashology!
I'm new to RC and have very limited stick time. That being said, I truely enjoy building. So far I have built 5 dtfb planes and have learned a lot. I have also made different types of wings and remade parts for existing planes. Winter is upon us all and thought this would be a good time to broaden the horizon and learn some new skills. I am looking for a sturdy, easy to build, balsa or wood plane that would be a good trainer (3 channel). I am not looking to do a scale or anything crazy. What would you recommend as a good plane to start? A kit or just plans? Any and all information is welcome, and as always thanks for the support.

mjmccarron

Hi TTF,

I enjoy scratch building from plans as the selection of kits has given way to ARF's. I understand that Mountain Models offer some good quality kits but haven't any personal experience with them. Several people on here who's opinions I trust report that they are of excellent quality. http://www.mountainmodels.com

If you're up for a scratch build, I really enjoyed the Carl Goldberg Falcons. The Jr. Falcon plans are on Outer Zone www.outerzone.co.uk
Just search for Carl Goldberg or Jr. Falcon. The Falcon56 is one of my all time favorites. There are many other plans there to choose from as well. In any event, let us know what you choose and keep us up with your progress. I for one think we need more balsa builders.

Good Luck!

Mike

given the work invested in a stick built plane, I sincerely recommend sticking to DTFB for your trainer type needs.
Balsa has migrated away from the mainstay it was, to being a medium somewhat reserved for projects that are kinda special.
that said .... J3 cub is a plane everyone should have.
You might also look into EPP foam,particularly if you really like a particular design.
you can pound this stuff mercilessly and still have a plane at the end of the day.

Last edited:

Snowblind

Propeller Balancer