Newbie: Help throttle calibration!

Dadalorian

Newbie here,

Building a Flite Test Mighty Mini trainer. New Spektrum ar620 receiver, used dx6e transmitter. Throttle channel is 1 and (to the best I can tell) throttle cutoff switch is off (or in other trials "inhibited" on settings). Cannot seem to calibrate the throttle: Just get continuous brrp...brrp motor vibrating and slowly turning.

Video of what we are going attached. EDIT: Could not attach a .mov file. Picture of setup attached. Sequence of what we are doing:
1) Transmitter on with throttle "up" position
2) Lots of musical beeps then a pause
3) Move throttle to "down" position"
4) Lots more beeps
5) Move throttle up: series of brrp...brrrps....

Then musical stuff repeats some more, and so on.
9117B58C-54B5-478A-A4EA-5FD92B1C65DB_1_105_c.jpeg

Help! My 9 yo and I have been struggling with this intermittently for weeks before I discovered this forum

Thanh you in advance!

Merv

Site Moderator
Staff member
Sounds like you have a broken wire between the ESC & motor.
Try unplugging each of the 3 wires, one at a time. If you find a wire that does not change the symptoms, that is the broken wire. Gently tug on the bullet plugs, sometimes one is not solder on, it will just fall off in your hand.

If all of the wires are sound, It’s likely a bad ESC or motor. If you have extras, try different one until you can isolate the problem.

Make sure the prop is removed while you are sorting things out. You don’t want it to startup unexpectedly.

Try uploading the video to YouTube and posting a link to the video.

quorneng

Master member
Dadalorian
Not quite sure what your 'brrrp' is representings.
Is the motor rotating but quickly stopping or is it just kicking but not rotating even a complete turn? If it is just kicking then it is either a bad motor connection or the ESC itself has failed.