NTM motors for the tricopter

Sammy

Hi guys,

In episode 9 of the podcast I heard that the DT750 and the NTM motors appear to be the motors of choice of the Swede, so who am I to disagree? I'm rather new to the hobby, and ordered a BatBone tricopter kit (looks rad with firetruck red booms!), along with most of the electronics.

I am now considering to get the NTM motors (imo they look better than the DT750's), but there are quite a few versions (over 30 actually) to choose from, and I don't know what to look for :confused: I know that the kV rating tells you the (maximum) rpm of your motor, based on the input voltage, and that the power consumption is limited by the ESC and the LiPo type, which are 30A Afro ESC's and a 3S LiPo in my case, but that doesn't narrow the list down much ...

I read somewhere that higher kV ratings make for faster motor at the price of torque, and lower kV ratings make snappier (more torque) but slower motors. It also said that motors with a lower kV-rating are more efficient, since they dissipate less heat. Does that sound about right? And would I be right to assume that for a beginner like me it is better to go with the lower kV ratings (less top speed), or do I pick a higher kV-rated motor because it is less snappy? I know I can set dual rates / expo on my TX to keep things in check, but once I get more comfortable flying the tri, which motor will be more suited / less likely to be replaced?

Also, there are short shaft versions available for these motors, which they claim are built with no external shaft, allowing the motor to be easily mounted on the multi-rotor frame without modifications. No external shaft? Then what do you mount the prop on??

Thanks in advance for your help!

PS: looking forward to the announced multirotor beginner series

Last edited:

Craftydan

Hostage Taker of Quads
Staff member
Mentor
Hey Sammy! Welcome to the forum!