Piper Cub or Super Cub

alan0043

Hi Everyone,

I would like to know if Flight Test has any plans to make a speed build kit for a Piper Cub or Super Cub or J3 Cub ? Something with about a 40" wing. It would be nice to see a Cub in a speed build kit.

Al

alan0043

Have you built and flown their Storch?

No I have not. Is it a good plane to start with ? I am new to the hobby. I understand that a plane that has a wing over head is a better choice of plane to start out with. You hear about a lot of people that their first plane was a Cub. I guess that is one reason that I would like to build a Cub.

mrwzrd59

Old Guy Geek
The FT Storch will fly better than any cub ever hoped to! Cubs, while plentiful and well know have not had such a good time when converting/scaling them down to "model" size. They have tip stall issues and really fly best if you have mastered the use of a rudder for coordinated turns. That being said, I hear that the Sport Cub S from E-Flite is one great airplane and most any novice can fly them straight from the box. My guess is that they were highly developed after they were scaled down from full size and scrubbed of all the nasty moves.
I have a couple of the Carbon Z cubs and even though they look great and that huge wing (85" span) gives you confidence that it will fly easily, they will bite you if you don't concentrate on your slow or even medium speed turns and fall right out of the sky! Boom!
I have seen it done a few too many times! Build yourself a FT Storch and it will fly slow, fast or anything in between while you get the hang of it. That is one very rewarding plane as your skills get sharp and will do some really fun maneuvers without risking a lot of $$$!

dgrigor02

I agree if your limiting to just speed build, the storch is close enough.