Prop Pitch Question

nilsen

Hi Ladies and Gents (are there any ladies on here?)

Anyway, I'm struggling with the prop pitch question, I have 12inch props on the hex and am switching between 12x6 and 12x4.5 but am not sure which are better.
The craft is an Aerial photography and videography build so stability is important.

As far as I understand the theory is in an ideal world 6 inch props would have more thrust as they move 6 inches up (or forward) for each revolution whereas the 4.5's move 4.5 inches forward for the same revolution.

The motors can handle the 1260 props no problem so should I just use them as I would get better lift? Is there anything else I should consider with regards to prop pitch?

Thanks.

3DMad5

I Like SBach 342's
I'm no expert, but from what I understand the lower pitch props would probably be better for your application. The motors will be able to accelerate/decelerate them faster leading to a more stable craft. The higher pitch props will give you more thrust, but you lose the fine control aspect of the lower pitch ones.

jayz 84

Posted a thousand or more times
The high the pitch the more speed you will get but less thrust. Also higher amps and higher watts. Lower pitch more thrust but less speed. Lower amps and lower watts. Now may every depending how efficient the motor runs on a given prop. A pitch of 6 means you with travel 6inch per revolution as the same goes for the 4.5. But on a prop of that size youll most likly run better on the 12x6 prop

FinalGlideAus

terrorizing squirrels
Have a little think about your pitch versus thrust theory Jayz 84. I'm not sure you're on the ball with that one. So long as the motor can handle it a 5x4 prop will have both a higher forward speed and higher thrust than a 5x3 prop but at a cost of higher current draw.