• This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more.

Scratch builds, material failures, stress testing and the general disorder in my life

I needed a single thread to dump stuff in. It may ramble a bit, but then so do I.

I'm Stress Test, a.k.a. Marc and this will record the scratch builds and my other rc stuff. I'm really new with a total of 3 minutes flight time and 5 crashes. I have a lot of trees on my property, and they tend to step out in front of my aircraft. Luckily a neighbor told me I could use his field, 20 to 30 clear acres. I hope to improve my flight time to crash ratio. :p

And in the name of more flight time here is a trainer I am building. Its a Flite Test Mini Scout. The original kit died when I was getting it out of a cedar tree. I did make patterns from it though and this one is built of Dollar General Foam. I pulled the parts out of the original which was built with a Power Pak.

Tonight I taped it off and put a single light coat of red paint over it. A 4 channel receiver is due in Saturday. I have 2 batteries and the servos are in it. It will be next week before I get to maiden it and trim another tree.

second_trainer.jpg

I also printed off and taped together a 3 view pdf for my scratch build winter project. With a 1440 mm wing span its the biggest I will have tried to build. If you recognize it I'll take that as a good sign. :)

Um, about dodging and taunting trees..

I started with FPV Blade Inductrix, you will notice the trees in the video, those are the same ones I have been dodging with a plane....

Happiness is your parts coming in a day early. My receiver came in today so I put it together and this was tidier than the first build. Then I glued the bottom up.

neat_wiring.jpg

Its a bit over powered with a 2205 2300kv motor and a 450mAh battery. I also have to slide the battery back to get it to balance.

450_battery.jpg