Sluggish Gremlin

sprintwrench36

Hey guys. Got a new to forum posting, new to multi-rotor, but not so new to Flite Test guy from Iowa here. I've been flying Ft planes for about 2 years now but I'm currently stumped. I recently built a gremlin (TJ frame), and had a blast building and flying at first. Flew on 2S and 3S for aprox. 10 flights and all was fine. About mid way through the second day of flying, i landed to change out batteries, and when i started flying again my gremlin has very little power. It now on 3S it behaves like it used to on 2S. This is most noticeable on punch outs and takeoff. Battery life seems to be the the same as always, about 6 mins on a 550mah. When i give roll or pitch input it seems to perk up and fly fast again, but on a straight up or recovery from a drop it doesn't have hardly enough power to lift itself. I have tried 4 different batteries, including two 2S and two 3S and it is the same on all batteries. So i think i have ruled that out? I have re soldered all esc and power connections to no avail. I was thinking about getting some higher rated esc's that are really rated for 3S but don't want to if i don't need to. Also wondered if i cooked the FC with 3S (i found out afterwords that the gremlin isn't supposed to handle 3S, not sure if it is the esc's or the FC or both that are that way). Im not really sure what to do next, but was hoping that someone else has experienced this or could help me out. This thing was awesome to start with and i want to get back to that. Grateful for any help that i can get.

PsyBorg

Wake up! Time to fly!
I fly mine all the time on 3s. I have had the weight on mine as high as 180 g and it flys great. Now I am down to 157g (still lardy for a Gremlin ) and it flys great.