STEM - Rant (and cry for help)

Boomfiziks

I apologize...I need to let off some steam.

I'm a high school teacher that has worked hard the past few years trying to get a STEM/STEAM program at my school. A couple of years ago, I came across FliteTest and got the idea of trying to start up a RC flying STEM program (shortly before FT-STEM started). Last year, after many grants and proposals, I finally received enough money and the okay from my school's administration to start the RC Aeronautics STEAM program. Everything has been great, Flite Test have been very supportive, the students and staff love the class. Before flying, I set aside some of the money to register the students' planes with the FAA. My administration sent me an email stating that the school's insurance does not cover "drones". My administration wanted to know if I was registering drones (thinking they are envisioning multirotors). I told them that the students built airplanes (FT-Trainer and Explorers). I got another email stating that since these are unmanned vehicles, they fall into the same category as "drones" and therefor cannot be flown. There is a possibility where they could get such coverage, but they are unwilling to pay the extra amount for that insurance rider.

It's frustrating to work so hard to get this program off the ground, to see the students work so hard and their excitement, and now they will not be able to see their hard work take flight.

I haven't told my students yet. In the meantime, I'm trying to gather up some resources that may help support our cause. If anyone has any ideas, resources, or directions...I would GREATLY appreciate it!

Thanks for listening and I apologize for the rant.

TexMechsRobot

Posted a thousand or more times
Would the school be able to pay for AMA memberships? The AMA insurance would supplement the school's insurance and fill the gap.

Could the students' parents agree to damages and risk and do it off site after school?