Successor after Delta Ray with very durable landing gear

lahannsven

Hi folks,

my son (11 years) flies the Delta ray very well. We are looking for a successor plane with a very durable landing gear.
We fly usually in the next woods 5 minutes from our house. The fields have high grass and the terrain is very uneven.

The Delta Ray has a very simple landing gear and never broke anything. My son has this plane already for several years. He flys only with me in company.

I also thought about belly landings, but then often the propeller breaks or splitters.

Do you guys have similar experience with your kids ? I also thought to upgrade the Delta Ray to brushless. But normally a new plane would come cheaper.

Sven

lahannsven

Just to add: I studied the YouTube videos from Brian Philipps about the brushless upgrade of the Delta Ray. Has anybody seen these videos or knows, if these brushless upgrades are durable ?

If I upgrade the Delta Ray, I would take the Emax 1806 2280KV motors with 5x4.5 3 blade propellers. This had been already suggested in a previous thread. I'm just pushing on this, because I need something solid for my son (11 years).

But I would favorise a new electric plane with very durable landing gears.

kdobson83

I would just go with a belly lander. You might break a prop every once in awhile but they cost $1-2 a piece. If you get a wing or a pusher style you'll have even less chance. I've had a FT Mini Arrow for over a year now, well over 100 batteries flown through it, have had 2 MAJOR crash's, and still using original prop.

But if you have to have a new plane, something you guys can grow with, I'd reccomend the HobbyKing Tundra or the Horizon Timber. Both are the same style of high wing plane with 'bush' style heavy duty landing gear. Both of with should be fairly easy to fly and both use common batteries and should be able to find ample spare parts for should you or he crash. Personally, the HobbyKing Tundra is on my list to buy.