Help! Tips for Cutting Double Bevels for Wing Foldovers

Scrivner

I'm new at doing the foamboard thing and I'm hoping the group might have some tips or tricks to share on cutting bevels. More specifically...

I'm having trouble with doing the double bevels for the part of the wings that fold under. I can't seem to get a shallow enough cut (it bends around but still needs about 45 more degrees of bend to lay flat). Also I keep cutting into the paper at the leading edge.

IMG_20210412_190111~2.jpg

If anyone has any tips I would really appreciate it! Thanks in advance for any advice!

*I'm kinda new so sorry if this isn't the appropriate place to post this. If not, please let me know which forum category is more appropriate. Thx.

BlockerAviation

Legendary member
Here's a really cool way to get good bevels.
First score the center of where you want the bevel.
IMG_20210412_202352912.jpg

Then mark where you want the bevel to end, make a mark and cut through just the paper.
IMG_20210412_202430486.jpg

Finally, remove the paper, fold over the piece and sand the exposed foam. The result is a perfect bevel almost every time!
IMG_20210412_202544744.jpg
IMG_20210412_202542112.jpg
IMG_20210412_202456868.jpg

I don't know where I found this trick but I do know it's really simple and makes great results!

Attachments

• IMG_20210412_202407461.jpg
    IMG_20210412_202407461.jpg
    2.5 MB · Views: 0
  • IMG_20210412_202314986.jpg
    IMG_20210412_202314986.jpg
    2.1 MB · Views: 0
  • IMG_20210412_202300714.jpg
    IMG_20210412_202300714.jpg
    2.5 MB · Views: 0

maxboo

In case you are using a knife: always use the best knife available for bevels.

I always have at least two paperknives on my desk: a new/sharp and a old one. I save the sharp one for the important cuts. After a while the it gets degraded and replaced by a new.

M

MCNC