Tricopter woes... cant get it to be stable.

stevec

Hi Chaps,

long time lurker first time poster so go easy;)

I am a tricopter newbie I fly RC planes, and mainly single rotor helicopters. not expert but I am working on inverted piro circles in the sim and inverted circuits in real life so I'm not a newb at helis...

my first tricopter build is complete and I have the following gear on it.

HK KK board v2.1
HK red brick esc
Turnigy donkey st 3508 730 kv
10x6 props.

I flashed the kk board with the KapteinKuk tricopter firmware.

The tricopter lifts off around half throttle but it is incredibly hard to control.

super sensivitve and just plain horrible to fly.

My first attempt at a circuit ended badly.

I thought I'd have a play with the gains because it sounds like not enough gain on the controller, but when I wound the gains up I just saw loads of oscillations.

From reading about it they fly like a coaxial heli, which I must admit I don't like the feel of, but then being used to collective pitch control we all dislike the woolyness that comes with a fp heli.

how do you guys tune your kk equipped quads? unless it is supposed to fly like this but if it does then the people flying them in the videos must be RC gods!
thinking about getting another motor and esc and calling it a quad, but I like the way the tri's fly in the videos, much more helicopter like.

it could be down to me using rock bottom components in the build,
I think it may be the Red brick ESC's like a low gain on the KK board, but this takes away the stability..
but I didn't want to have to invest too much into this thing as my Helicopters cost me enough...
many thanks
Steve

glydr

How many letters do we ge
Hi Steve,