Turnigy 9x and 9xr buddy boxing

DavTixRC

Hi every one, I am new to the whole forum thing, but was wondering if any buddy knows if you can buddy box using a turnigy 9x as the teachers (main) transmitter and a 9xr (without a module) as the student (slave) transmitter? Because I would like to teach someone how to fly but I don't want to buy a module for the 9xr.
Thanks,
DavTixRC

bitogre

I do not own a Turnigy 9X or 9XR or a Taranis (all of which use the same base frimware) but I have been looking at them and know that they can buddy box together (both as master and slave) and with Spektrum and JR transmitters (though I think the 9X needs a hardware mod to buddy box but try without mod first). There are some quirks. Here is a video on how to do it with the stock Turnigy firmware. Here is a video on how to do it if you have switched to the Open9X firmware.

I hope this helps. Let me know how things go as I am currently planning on buying a Taranis (which is why I had been watching these videos about doing this) and want to know if the videos are correct.

DavTixRC

All right, I ordered a 9xr a while ago, and I finally got it a few days ago. I tried to buddy box with the stock firmware on both transmitters (9x and 9xr) but wasn't getting the channels to match up well. Upgraded my 9xr with Open-TX (I think it is the same as open 9x) and works like a charm.

Steps to Buddy Box: