Solved Binding/Electronic Problems

Macamilish

I can't get my receiver (orangerx r610 v2) and transmitter (spektrum dxe that came with a mini apprentice) to bind. I put the receiver into bind mode and its led flashes but when I press the bind button on my spektrum, the led stops flashing or emitting light at all, but the motor continues to beep. Is this a problem with the construction since it's a cheap transmitter? I'm fairly certain everything is connected correctly, and I can't find a solution to the problem on the internet or other forums. This is my first time building my own plane and connecting electronics I'vs bought

Bricks

Master member
Are you turning off the transmitter then hold the bind button while turning on the transmitter.

Macamilish

Yes, with the receiver in binding mode, flashing led, I hold down the bind button on the transmitter and turning it on, but the transmitter makes a beep that sounds like an indication of a negative and the led on the receiver turns off entirely but the motor continues to beep and twitch

Last edited:

JimCR120

Got Lobstah?
Site Moderator
I've often had failed binds when I tried binding with the tx too close to the model during the bind process. I usually succeed when holding the transmitter an arms distance from the model during the binding process.

Macamilish

I haven't been able to get the tx and rx to bind when held at an arm's length, do you think it may be a faulty receiver?

sprzout

Knower of useless information
Mentor
Mac,

Try binding it from about 6 ft. away. I have several of those OrangeRX receivers (610v2, 615, and 618XL), and have had issues with them binding at close range. I step away about 4-6 ft, hold down the bind and turn on the transmitter, and it syncs up cleanly on my DX6.

Which is another question to ask - are you using a DX6e, DX6i, DX8e? I know with the DX6 and DX8, there is voice capability that tells you if the bind failed or succeeded.