$150 Laser Cutter

ScottyWarpNine

Mostly Harmless
Because I don't already have enough to do before Flite Fest!

I know it can be done, so I'm going to do it. The purpose of this project is to create a simple, reliable laser cutter that can cut one sheet of 20" by 30" Dollar Tree foam board for less than $150.

Construction Materials:
Primarily made from MDF, Some 3D printed parts, and metal rods from any hardware store.

Electronics:
Control will be via an Arduino Uno with two Polulu Stepper drivers running two NEMA 17 Stepper Motors. The laser is a 500mW 405nM cutting laser with integrated heat sink and focusing lens. The laser is the only part so far that I have had to source from China. You could probably save a little money by buying more parts from China, but I decided to get all of my parts from ebay sellers in the US to speed up shipping.

Software:
I will be using GRBL to control this thing. I have no experience with it, but seeing as it is what is used in most mainstream machine tools these days, I think it would be the best choice.

I just went to Home depot and bought all of the rods I will need:
(2) 36" x 5/16" smooth steel rod (Y axis linear rails) $6.94
(2) 36" x 3/8" smooth steel rod (X axis linear rails) $9.94
(1) 72" x 5/16" threaded rod (leadscrews) $5.27

So I'm in $22.15 plus tax. I guess you could say things are getting pretty serious.

nk3p4YV.jpg

earthsciteach

If you can pull this off and explain it in a way that an electronic idiot like me can build it, you should be the next Steve Jobs!

Ground loop

Free Flight Indoorist
Im definitely watching this! I dont care if it takes 5 hours to cut out Im getting a kinda tired of cutting foam board. I had an idea a while ago to build a 20x30 pen plotter to draw the plans full size on the foam.

ScottyWarpNine

Mostly Harmless
If you can pull this off and explain it in a way that an electronic idiot like me can build it, you should be the next Steve Jobs!