Aspect ratio for performance with certain limitations

HenryS

This isn't a beginner question as much as a miscellaneous question, as it applies to free flight which I couldn't find a section for and FT forum is the only slightly-aeronautical forum I know.

I'm not a complete beginner to flying planes, but I'm not experienced by any means. I can probably fly a trainer, but anything outside the realm of "well tuned semi-hands off slow-medium plane" is out of my grasp

So basically, I work on a little bit of indoor rubber free flight in a school competition club, and I was wondering how my aspect ratio would affect my performance. Rules limit my wingspan and my thrust(rubber), so I was wondering if I increase my wing chord will I be better or worse. Basically, The rubber motor basically provides limited total impulse, and I can control my wing dimensions. I am probably not gonna mess with airfoil, but it is a single layer of film in an undercambered shape over a balsa frame. When I increase wing chord, there will be more drag and wing vortexes, but also I will have more wing area. Based on my limited thrust, should I try for as narrow a wing possible or as wide a wing as possible? By the way, the goal is to get as much airtime as possible.

Thanks in advance!

perhapsleiana

Elite member
Wingtip vortices can be controlled with wingtip devices, especially in the trailing half of the wing, and overall, increasing the chord will increase wing area, which will let the plane stay aloft at slower speeds, and in turn reducing the amount of power needed to keep it aloft (same amount of force but less power).

telnar1236

Elite member
This isn't a beginner question as much as a miscellaneous question, as it applies to free flight which I couldn't find a section for and FT forum is the only slightly-aeronautical forum I know.